New Chair and members to join the Scottish Housing Regulator’s Board

16 June 2017

Scottish Ministers have today announced the appointment of a new Chair and three members to the Board of the Scottish Housing Regulator (SHR). The new members that will join the Regulator from 1 July 2017 are:

• George Walker, Chair
• Siobhan White
• Andrew Watson
• Bob Gil

The Regulator’s current Chair, Kay Blair, will retire in August. Kay said: “I am delighted Scottish Ministers received a high level of interest in joining our Board. We are grateful to all of our stakeholders who helped to promote the vacancies.

I very much look forward to welcoming George, Andrew, Bob and Siobhan. George and I will be working closely on handover ahead of my retirement at the end of August. I am extremely proud of the Regulator's work and what we have achieved over the last six years. We are an effective Regulator that puts tenants', homeless people and other service users' interests at the heart of our work. I wish George, our Board members and staff every success as they continue this important work.”

The Regulator’s new Chair, George Walker, is an experienced Chair, Executive Director and Corporate Executive. He was a Non-Executive Director in the NHS overseeing finance and governance projects. He has also worked in the pharmaceutical industry and corporate sector.

George said: “I’m excited to be joining SHR as Chair. Effective regulation has a vital role in creating the environment for successful social landlords that deliver good outcomes for tenants. I look forward to meeting those working in social housing in Scotland and to hearing the views and priorities of our wide range of stakeholders.

I would like to wish Kay well for her retirement and thank her for her leadership and hard work with SHR. I am keen to start work with our new and existing members as we continue to build on the achievements of Kay and her team.”

Scottish Ministers sought people with communication, analytical and financial skills and experience to complement the Regulator’s existing board. Its new Board members have a range of Board experience in the public and private sector. Andrew Watson is currently Chair of Berwickshire Housing Association. He will step down from this role before he joins the Regulator in July.

The appointments follow an open and competitive appointment process by Scottish Ministers. More about the public appointment process and the newly appointed members is available on the
Scottish Government's Public Appointments website


Notes to editors: 

Notes to News editors

1. The Scottish Housing Regulator was established on 1 April 2011 under the Housing (Scotland) Act 2010. Its objective is to safeguard and promote the interests of tenants and others who use local authority and RSL housing services. The Regulator operates independently of Scottish Ministers and is accountable directly to the Scottish Parliament. It assumed its full regulatory responsibilities on 1 April 2012. The Regulator consists of the Chair and five Board members. More information about the Regulator can be found on its website at

2. SHR regulates around 160 registered social landlords and the housing activities of 32 local authorities.

3. SHR sets out how it regulates social landlords in its published framework – Regulation of Social Housing in Scotland.

Tracy Davren
Communications Manager

0141 242 5574